Know Everything About NATO: NATO Countries List 2024

Rate this post

Know in simple words what is NATO and its member countries.

NATO is an international organisation that uses political and military means to ensure the independence and security of its members. It was constructed in 1949.

NATO is the group that is being talked the most in the Russia-Ukraine conflict (NATO). Its position is being debated, and it has been said that it is evading its responsibilities. But do you know what NATO is and how it operates? Please let us know via this article.

What is NATO?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) was established in 1949 by 28 European countries and two North American countries.

NATO’s mission is to ensure the independence and security of its members through political and military methods, as well as to prevent conflict between countries through defence and security cooperation. It was constructed after World War II. Brussels, Belgium is home to NATO’s headquarters.

What are NATO’s verticals?

According to NATO, an attack on one of its member countries is an attack on the entire organisation. That is, if one of the NATO countries is attacked, the entire alliance will retaliate. NATO does not have its own army or other means of defence, but on the basis of mutual understanding, all NATO member countries will provide their own forces. It’s worth noting that this is only available to NATO members.

NATO will be unaccountable to countries that are not members of the alliance. Another unique feature of NATO is that it is responsible for defending its member countries against any external assault; nevertheless, if a civil or other war breaks out in any member country, NATO will have no involvement.

How is NATO funded?

NATO is exclusively funded by its member countries, and if we’re talking about finance, America is the backbone since it contributes three-quarters of the budget. NATO nations’ combined military budget accounted for 57 percent of global military spending in 2020. The members agreed to aim for a defence spending target of at least 2% of their GDP by 2024.

List of members of NATO (2022)

Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States were the founding members of NATO in 1949. However, the number of member countries has now surpassed 30.


  1. Belgium
  2. Croatia
  3. Canada
  4. Czech Representative
  5. Denmark
  6. Estonia
  7. Bulgaria
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Lithuania
  15. Luxembourg
  16. Montenegro
  17. Greece
  18. Netherlands
  19. North Macedonia
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Norway
  23. Slovakia
  24. Slovenia
  25. Spain
  26. Romania
  27. Turkey
  28. United Kingdom
  29. United States

Leave a Comment